Five Things

Despite the heat giving everyone a case of Summer Brain (someone please reassure me that it’s not just me) this week, I’ve had quite the inspiring time exploring our own archive, as well as elsewhere in the Land of Archives.

As such, I need some sort of venue to share the things I’ve come across during the week. It’s a bit ambitious to share everything (and I’m assuming readership would dwindle), so I will try to limit it to five. Therefore, this shall be the first ‘Five Things’ Friday…

I’ve been looking through the NUWT archive collection and scanning sources that will be especially relevant for schools sessions. Each time I question whether a new folder will be helpful or not, I open it and inevitably find items that have great potential for engaging students. In terms of pupil participation, I’ve always found the citizenship curriculum to be one of the most interesting subjects to teach. Children have such a strong idea of what is right and wrong; fair and unfair, and the NUWT collection will be a fantastic catalyst for looking at contemporary issues that could do with a bit of social justice discussion.

1. All of the NUWT leaflets
These leaflets really remind you how hands-on campaigning used to be (the Twitter and blogging of the ’30s):

Leaflets!  Lots of leaflets. (photo reference UWT/D/37/11)

Leaflets! Lots of leaflets.
(photo reference UWT/D/37/11)

2. Record after record of the prejudice and opposition faced by women looking for equality.

rawwr

This certainly echoes current debates where – what are actually issues of equality – are portrayed as a sort of attack on ‘the fabric of family life.’ (photo reference UWT/D/37/3)

Outside of our collection, I’ve come across some really interesting education outreach that various Library & Archive departments offer:

3. Newcastle University’s Archives Alive Programme.
I suggest you try to save a cholera victim.

4. Because I can’t leave out my home country, the Archives of Ontario offers a variety of educational sessions, including travelling workshops.
The travelling workshops are an outreach strategy I hope we can also offer, as classes realistically aren’t always able to make it to the Archives for a visit.

And lastly,

5. The letter that made Audrey Hepburn a star at the BFI.
This has absolutely nothing to do with education… but at least it has to do with archives?

3 thoughts on “Five Things

  1. Great idea for a feature, I look forward to reading future instalments. Really pleased you’ve resurrected this blog! Sean

    • Thanks, Sean! Couldn’t let a perfectly good blogging space go to waste. Let me know if you ever fancy a return to the archives to write a guest post. Alix

  2. Pingback: A Fairly Belated Five Things | National Union of Women Teachers

Leave a Reply

